The knowing.



The cloud knows when to release the raindrop. It is not a thinking kind of knowing, it is a being kind of knowing. It is simply following the law of gravity. Water molecules condense to form droplets, they collect to form a cloud. When the cloud becomes too heavy, the droplets fall as raindrops. The cloud has released. Ta-dah.

There is an inherent wisdom to every cycle in nature. The lungs inherently know when they have reached capacity and they release; no need to think about it… leave that to the autonomic nervous system… your autonomic nervous system. You have so many guidance systems at your disposal, so many opportunities to bask in the knowing.

Happy meditating.


Downloadable Podcast: Soften Open Release – Day 3


Release, let go.



On one (very obvious) level, we live in a material word. We hold things. In the summertime, we hold peaches, wildflower bouquets, sunglasses & beach towels. Peaches get eaten. Bouquets go in vases, And the sun goes down, thus sunglasses come off and beach towels get hung to dry. In other words, we move on and all’s well. In the case of material clinging – we endlessly protect our favorite threadbare t-shirt, we indulgently refuse to share our cake, we dependently clutch someone’s arm, we hold tight to our “last dime.” It takes great effort, great force, to cling.

Once again, the breath can show us the way. In the same way we softened, opened, and received the breath – we soften, open, and release it. This is flow; this is relation; this is presence. And… it just feels so good to let go (even letting go of your favorite t-shirt; trust me, you’ll soon acquire a new favorite).

Happy meditating.


Downloadable Podcast: Soften Open Release – Day 1

Allowing begets revelation.



Some words from the ever-wise Mike Dooley: “Most would never admit it, or they hide it from themselves, but everyone can sense God within. And once admitted, they can sense God in others.”

Namaste… I soften to, open with, and receive your light.


Downloadable Podcast: Soften Open Receive – Day 3